New British Film Festival Talks

The educational programme has always been its major focus: public talks with invited experts from Russia and the UK speaking about the international film industry.

This year, the educational programme will be traditionally held at the Moscow Film School. It will include public talks with the festival guests: director of Gwen William McGregor, and Schemers’ producer Khaled Spiewak and lead actor Conor Berry. The Moscow Film School will also host four film screenings with follow-up discussions. The festival will present a selection of short films nominated for the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA), as well as full-length documentaries about music. The screenings and subsequent discussions will be moderated by Russian film critics and teachers from the Moscow Film School.

Discussions will be held in Russian or in English with simultaneous translation. The films will be screened in English with Russian subtitles.

The educational programme events are free, prior registration is required.

November 8, 20:00
Auditorium of the Moscow Film School

Public talk with the Schemers' producer Khaled Spiewak 
 and lead actor Conor Berry

Moderator: Denis Boyarinov

Schemers is a youth action film set in the 1980s that tells the story of adventurous friends from a Scottish province who organize semi-underground concerts of the bands that are to become classics of the British music scene. The plot is based on a real life story: the film's director David Mclean made a successful career as a music promoter, and his friend Alex Weston founded the band Placebo in the early 1990s.

At the public talk the audience will meet actor Conor Berry, who debuted with the film's lead role to the world of big cinema, and producer Khaled Spiewak who contributed to the film also as editor and cameraperson. The conversation, however, will go beyond the world of cinema: together with the moderator, music journalist Denis Boyarinov, the guests will discuss how the worlds of film and music intersect, will comment on the British music scene of today, and will explore how real life stories turn into films.


Entrance is free, registration is required: register.

November 13, 19:00
Cinema Hall of the Moscow Film School

Screening of Cool Daddio: The Second Youth of R. Stevie Moore

Hailed as the greatest unknown genius of modern times, the legendary R. Stevie Moore has influenced a generation of musicians including artists Ariel Pink, Albert Hammond Jr (The Strokes), Mac DeMarco and many others. Cool Daddio: The Second Youth of R. Stevie Moore is a tragi-comic musical odyssey to discover underground music icon R. Stevie Moore, a man who recorded over 400 albums…. in his bedroom. Now in his 60s, R. Stevie Moore is finally receiving worldwide recognition and growing cult following. Is it too much and too late?

(Written by V. Rutkovsky)

UK, Poland 2019, 78 min.
Directed By Monika Baran, Imogen Putler
16+
More about the film…


Discussion after the screening will be moderated by Violetta Vlasova.

Film critic, contributor to the Art of Cinema magazine. BA in Journalism, Lomonosov Moscow State University, MA in Data Journalism, Higher school of Economics. Graduate of the Cinema History and Contemporary Cinema courses at Moscow Film School. Contributed to the projects:
Novaya Gazeta Data Journalism Hackathon (March 2018)
Soundtrack of the Generation Y Hackathon at Budget Tools (October 2017)
2nd award in the nomination Best Media Material, BudgetApps competition
Happy Data Saints Hackathon (December 2017). Project: The Black Market for the Dark Web


Entrance is free, registration is required: register.

November 14, 19:00
Cinema Hall of the Moscow Film School

Screening of The Soundtrack for a Revolution

"You must find a way to get in trouble — good trouble, necessary trouble."

In the 60s, Congressman John Lewis was a leader of the American civil rights movement, which aimed to stop apartheid in peaceful ways. Black music passed down from generation to generation and was inextricably linked to the fight. It was not just music, but the oral embodiment of the black history. Through interviews, archives and new recordings of the freedom songs, The Soundtrack For A Revolution shows how important music was not only to the civil rights movement, but also to the tens of thousands of people who came from across the country to the southern states to assert their rights. The film features such legendary figures such as Julian Bond and Andrew Young. The film tells the story of the decisive events that led to the abolition of racial segregation and the adoption of universal suffrage.

Written by V. Rutkovsky)

UK, USA 2019, 82 min.
Directed by Bill Guttentag, Dan Sturman
16+
More about the film…


Discussion after the screening will be moderated by Violetta Vlasova.


Entrance is free, registration is required: register.

November 17, 19:00
Cinema Hall of the Moscow Film School

Screening of Being Blacker

After a ten-year absence, acclaimed filmmaker Molly Dineen is back with a new feature documentary: Being Blacker; a very personal, moving 90-minute portrait of producer and businessman Blacker Dread, a native of Jamaica.

40 years after featuring in Dineen’s first film, Blacker invites Dineen to film his mother’s funeral opening the door to his life at a time of great personal crisis. As the story unfolds, and Blacker faces his first prison sentence, he reflects on the issues that have dogged his last 40 years here in the UK; inequality, poverty, crime, and racism, and why he sent his youngest child back to school in Jamaica.

(Written by V. Rutkovsky)

UK 2018, 90 min.
Directed by Molly Dineen
16+
More about the film…


Discussion after screening will be moderated by Thea Tkebucheva.

Student of the Moscow Film School at the programme of Practical Film Criticism. Graduate of the Contemporary Cinema programme. Studied at the Higher School of Art Practices and Museum Technologies. Graduated from the Acting Department of the Yaroslavl State Theatre Institute. Previously worked as a casting director in two film companies: IKafilm and Sergey Bezrukov's Film Company.


Entrance is free, registration is required: register.

November 18, 19:00
Cinema Hall of the Moscow Film School

BAFTA 2019 Short Film Selection Screening

Eight stories – eight short films, different in style, genre and narrative shot by British Directors and nominated for the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA). Wale is a drama about a minor black criminal trying to start a new life; The Blue Door is a horror about the mysteries that hide in an ordinary apartment with a bedridden old woman; I'm OK is an animated fantasy on the life and work of the Austrian artist Oscar Kokoschka. The whole palette of the main trends in modern British cinema — in one session.

More about the films…


The discussion after the screening will be moderated by Vsevolod Korshunov, teacher of the Moscow Film School (Practical Film Criticism, Cinema History), film critic, PhD in art.


Entrance is free, registration is required: register.

Logotypes

New British Film Festival Talks

Важнейшей составляющей фестиваля является образовательная программа – встречи и беседы с приглашёнными экспертами из России и Великобритании об устройстве и работе международной индустрии кино.

В этом году образовательная программа, которая традиционно пройдёт в Московской школе кино (МШК), состоит из двух частей. Это дискуссии с участием гостей фестиваля: режиссёром фильма «Гвен» Уильямом Макгрегором, продюсером фильма «Махинаторы» Халедом Спиваком и исполнителем главной роли Конором Берри. Кроме того, в кинотеатре МШК пройдут четыре кинопоказа с обсуждением. Вниманию зрителей будут представлены подборка короткометражных фильмов, номинированных на премию Британской академии кино и телевидения (BAFTA), а также подборка полнометражных документальных фильмов о музыке. Ведущими кинопоказов и последующих обсуждений выступают российские кинокритики и преподаватели Московкой школы кино.

Дискуссии проводятся на русском языке или на английском языке синхронным переводом. Фильмы демонстрируются на английском языке с русскими субтитрами.

Вход на все мероприятия образовательной программы свободный, необходима регистрация.

8 ноября в 20:00
Лекторий Московской школы кино

Встреча с продюсером фильма «Махинаторы» 
 Халедом Спиваком и актёром Конором Берри 

Ведущий – Денис Бояринов

«Махинаторы» – молодёжный остросюжетный фильм о том, как в эпоху 1980-х компания предприимчивых друзей в шотландской глубинке организовывала полуподпольные концерты андеграундных групп, ставших впоследствии классикой британской музыкальной сцены. Сюжет основан на истории из жизни: режиссёр картины Дэвид Маклин сделал успешного карьеру музыкального промоутера, а его друг Алекс Вестон открыл в начале 1990-х группу «Placebo».

О работе над фильмом расскажут актёр Конор Берри, для которого главная роль в картине стала дебютом в мире большого кино, а также продюсер фильма Халед Спивак, который также трудился над фильмом в качестве монтажёра и оператора. Беседа, впрочем, выходит за рамки кино: вместе с ведущим дискуссии, музыкальным журналистом Денисом Бояриновым, гости обсудят, как пересекаются миры кино и музыки, что представляет собой британская музыкальная сцена сегодня, и как реальные истории становятся основой для фильмов.


Вход свободный при обязательной регистрации: зарегистрироваться.

13 ноября в 19:00
Кинозал Московской школы кино

Показ фильма «Cool Daddio: вторая жизнь Р. Стиви Мура»

Провозглашённый величайшим неизвестным гением современности, легендарный Р. Стиви Мур оказал влияние на целое поколение музыкантов, включая Ариэля Пинка, Альберта Хаммонда-младшего, Мака ДеМарко и других. «Cool Daddio: Вторая молодость Р. Стиви Мура» – трагикомическая музыкальная одиссея, раскрывающая личность иконы андеграундной музыки и пионера инди-самиздата, человека, который записал более 400 альбомов… прямо в своей спальне. Теперь, когда ему уже за шестьдесят, Р. Стиви Мур, наконец, получает всемирное признание и отправляется в своё первое мировое турне. Не слишком ли много и не слишком ли поздно?

(Текст В. Рутковского)

Великобритания, Польша 2019, 78 мин.
Режиссёр Моника Баран, Имоджен Патлер
16+
Подробнее о фильме…


Обсуждение фильма после просмотра ведёт Виолетта Власова.

Киновед, автор публикаций в журнале «Искусство кино». Выпускница факультета журналистики Московского государственного университета им. М. В. Ломоносова, магистратуры «Журналистика данных» НИУ «Высшая школа экономики». Закончила курсы «История кино» и «Современное кино» Московской школы кино. Участница проектов:
Хакатон Новой Газеты по дата-журналистике (март 2018)
«Саундтрек поколения Y» Хакатон Budget Tools (октябрь 2017)
2 место в номинации «Лучший медиаматериал» конкурса BudgetApps
Хакатон Happy Data Saints (декабрь 2017) Проект: «Чёрный рынок тёмного веба»


Вход свободный при обязательной регистрации: зарегистрироваться.

14 ноября в 19:00
Кинозал Московской школы кино

Показ фильма «Саундтрек революции»

«Это были хорошие трудности. Это были необходимые трудности».

В 60-е конгрессмен Джон Льюис был одним из лидеров американского движения за гражданские права, которое пыталось остановить апартеид мирными способами. Чёрная музыка, передававшаяся от поколения к поколению, была неразрывно связана с борьбой. Это была не просто музыка, а устное воплощение чёрной истории. Через интервью, архивные и новые записи песен свободы «Саундтрек революции» показывает, насколько важна была музыка не только для движения за гражданские права, но и для десятка тысяч людей, которые съехались со всей страны на Юг США, чтобы отстоять свою позицию. В фильме принимают участие такие легенды движения как Джулиан Бонд и Эндрю Янг. Картина повествует о решающих событиях, приведших к отмене расовой сегрегации и принятии всеобщего избирательного права.

(Текст В. Рутковского)

Великобритания, США 2009, 82 мин.
Режиссёр Билл Гуттентаг, Дэн Стурман
16+
Подробнее о фильме…


Обсуждение фильма после просмотра ведёт Виолетта Власова.


Вход свободный при обязательной регистрации: зарегистрироваться.

17 ноября в 19:00
Кинозал Московской школы кино

Показ фильма «Быть Блэкером»

После десятилетнего перерыва известная режиссёр Молли Динин возвращается с новым документальным фильмом: «Быть Блэкером»; очень личный, трогательный 90-минутный портрет продюсера и бизнесмена Блэкера Дреда, уроженца Ямайки.

Спустя 40 лет после участия в прошлой картине Динин, Блэкер приглашает её на похороны своей матери, открывая дверь в свою жизнь в самые сложные времена: Блэкеру грозит тюремное заключение, он размышляет над проблемами, которые обрушились на него в Великобритании в последние 40 лет, от расизма до нищеты, и о том, почему он отправил учиться своего младшего ребёнка обратно на Ямайку.

(Текст В. Рутковского)

Великобритания 2018, 90 мин.
Режиссёр Молли Динин
16+
Подробнее о фильме


Обсуждение фильма после просмотра ведёт Теа Ткебучава.

Студентка Московской школы кино на программе «Практическая кинокритика». Выпускница программы «Современное кино». Была слушательницей в Высшей Школе Художественных практик и Музейных Технологий. Закончила актёрский факультет Ярославского Государственного Театрального Института. Ранее работала кастинг-директором в двух кинокомпаниях «IKafilm» и «Кинокомпании Сергея Безрукова».


Вход свободный при обязательной регистрации: зарегистрироваться.

18 ноября в 19:00
Кинозал Московской школы кино

Показ подборки короткометражного кино «BAFTA 2019»

Восемь историй – восемь разных по стилю, жанру и сюжету короткометражных фильмов, снятых британскими режиссёрами и номинированных на премию Британской академии кино и телевидения (BAFTA). Так, «Уолли» – драма о несовершеннолетнем чернокожем преступнике, который пытается начать новую жизнь, «Синяя дверь» – бытовой хоррор о загадках, которые скрывает обыкновенная квартира с прикованной к постели старушкой, «Я в порядке» – анимационная фантазия на тему жизни и творчества австрийского художника оскара Кокошки. Вся палитра основных тенденций, которые прослеживаются в современном британском кинематографе, за один сеанс.

Подробнее о фильмах…


Обсуждение фильма после просмотра ведёт Всеволод Коршунов – преподаватель Московской школы кино («Практическая кинокритика», «История кино»), киновед, кандидат искусствоведения.


Вход свободный при обязательной регистрации: зарегистрироваться.

Logotypes